Mzansi's online music industry information portal covering: Music | Events | Charts | Reviews | Industry Insight | Music Education

Time For Young Performers To Enter NEA Competition

Talented young performers are invited to enter the 14th National Eisteddfod Academy Young Performer Awards competition.

This is open to all amateur performers in dance, contemporary and classical music, and drama who scored above 90 percent – diploma – in local arts festivals, eisteddfods or competitions.

There are four elimination rounds concluding with a final round where the junior and senior winners compete for cash prizes of at least R50 000 and gold, silver and bronze medals.

Participants can either perform live or submit a video recording on DVD for adjudication in the first round. This gives young performers in remote areas the opportunity to compete.

The final deadline for live performances is February 12. All DVD entries should reach the NEA not later than February 29. Entry forms, entry fees and additional information are available on the NEA website,

Proof of the standard and integrity of this competition are the many top achievers who have gone on to greater success. Henno William, Isabella Jane (Snyman) and Julian Hepburn were finalists in’s SA’s Got Talent competition. Singer-songwriter Henno (silver medallist in the NEA Awards 2015) has been signed by New York-based music executive Kevin Liles, who will launch him internationally.

Dancers Andile Ndlovu and Camille Bracher were top achievers at the 2007 International Ballet Competition. Ndlovu, also a finalist in KykNet’s Dance, Dance, Dance, is currently with the Washington Ballet. Camille Bracher dances with the London Ballet Company.

Maudee Montierre, a well-known soprano, is currently a lecturer at the University of Cape Town and Carmen Pretorius has performed in Mamma Mia, Cinderella, Jersey Boys and the South African movie Lien se Lankstaanskoene, among others.

The annual National Eisteddfod Academy Young Performer Awards competition was founded in 2004 to provide a national platform for the best young performers in music, dance and drama, as identified at various festivals and competitions.

To provide opportunity for as many young performers as possible, the NEA invites organisers of other eisteddfods and festivals, or parents of performers, to nominate and enter their own top achievers, under the organisation’s name, in the NEA Young Performer Awards competition.

The first round runs from February 20 to March 15 at the Roodepoort Theatre. The quarter finals are from March 25 to 30, followed by the semi-finals at the Brooklyn Theatre, Pretoria, from May 9-12. These will take the form of evening concerts, each night dedicated to a different genre – classical music, contemporary music, dance and drama.

The final round, featuring the junior and senior winners of the semi-finals, will be at the Brooklyn Theatre on May 20. A panel of five adjudicators, representing the different genres, will select the winners of the gold, silver and bronze medals.

Among the adjudicators have been Mimi Coertse, Ismail Mahomed, Sibongile Mngoma, Gloria Bosman, Heinz Winkler, Relebogile Mabotja, Bianca le Grange, Vinette Ebrahim, Iain MacDonald, Roderick Jaftha, Diane Coutts and Jan Engelen, to name but a few.

National Arts Festival director Ismail Mahomed, now CEO of the Market Theatre Foundation, a judge at the 2013 Awards, said, “If the NEA Award-winners represent the next generation of artists, I am filled with great hope for the creative industries.”

The NEA also manages the National Eisteddfod of South Africa™, the largest eisteddfod platform in the country.

For further information contact the NEA office at tel: 011 886 6005 / fax: 011 787 3534 / e-mail: [email protected]

error: Content is protected !!